The Low Fat Raw Vegan Cleanse

Standard

I’ve been eating a high-raw diet for almost 3 years now.  Its been quite an adventure (the entire thing is Chronicled here).  In short, I’ve done this diet just about every wrong way you can.  I’ve been sick, and I’ve been scared, and at the darkest of times I’ve been nearly hopeless.  But something inside me has been telling me all along that this is the answer, I just had to figure out what the missing factor was.  I believe I finally have.

About a month ago, while on day 32 of a systemic yeast cleanse, feeling very discouraged and afraid and very fatigued and bloated, I posted a reply on a Facebook page in answer to the question, “Which do you prefer, smoothies or juicing?”  I ended up getting a recommendation from another poster that, I believe, has changed my life and was the answer to many prayers.  She suggested I try the 80/10/10 diet, which is a low fat raw vegan diet.  I’d been doing varying degrees of raw, and I’d done both vegan and vegetarian (as a vegetarian I ate goat’s milk products and eggs on occasion).  But I had always eaten a tremendous amount of fat.  I won’t say too much about this, as I’ll be posting an update on my health blog (see the link above) very soon.  My intention here is just to let those who are looking for answers know something.  If you are suffering from blood sugar issues (even diabetes), fatigue, chronic pain, high blood pressure, Candida (and its endless accompanying symptoms), digestive weakness, etc.  TRY THIS.  For 3 days to 3 weeks eat only fruit and raw tender leafy greens and vegetables.  Do not cook or add salt to anything and do not consume any overt fat (there is plenty of fat in your fruit).  Be sure to eat as close to 2000 calories a day as you can (more if you are very active), and keep your calories from both fat and protein below 10%.  Tip:  dates and bananas are a great way to get those calories, it can be hard to get anywhere near enough without them.  I realize this is a paradigm shift for many, trying to eat more calories and trying to eat less protein, but trust me on this.  For diabetics, 80% of you can reverse diabetes in less than 4 weeks of eating this way (see Dr. Douglas N. Graham’s book The 80/10/10 Diet).  I would also HIGHLY (I cannot make this stand out enough!) recommend colon cleansing.  If you can afford to do colon hydrotherapy, look for a Wood’s certified therapist near you, if there isn’t one go for the gravity fed open LIBBE system.  If you absolutely cannot afford this, get really great at self-administering enemas at home (let me know if you would like detailed instructions on how to do this).

Basically, you will eat fruit meals (or smoothies or green smoothies), preferably 1 fruit at a time until you’re satiated (mono-meals), until dinner.  At dinner you will have a very large salad and more fruit if you need it.  Its very simple.  Be sure you’re getting exercise every day for at least 20 minutes (rebounding, yoga and dancing are best, but any movement that makes you feel great is good).

I have been eating low fat high raw for about 4 weeks now and have seen HUGE improvements in how I feel.  Today is my second day of adding no overt fat or salt and eating all raw.  I’m aiming for 3 days and then seeing how I feel, since really my only major current complaint is abdominal bloating (which I’ve had almost all of the time for the past 15 years and has improved over the past 3 weeks but is still not completely resolved) and trouble sleeping (which I’ve had as far back as I can remember, before the age of 4).  I’m SO excited that my blood sugar is doing so dramatically better though!  Its like night and day.

For lunch I came up with a nut-free salt-free variation of my favorite Cinnamon Roll Milkshake (see post below for recipe) and I thought I’d share that with you.

Low-Fat Salt-Free Raw Vegan Milkshake

By Holly

 

Make 2, or 1 super sized

2-3 Medjool dates, pits removed

1 cup water

2 handfuls organic baby spinach  (optional)

1 handful ice cubes

4-5 frozen bananas

1 TBS alcohol-free vanilla, vanilla powder, or ½ of a vanilla bean

1 tsp  alcohol-free almond extract (optional)

Cinnamon, to taste (optional)

Stevia, to taste (optional)

 

Blend water, dates, spinach and flavorings until smooth.  Add ice and bananas and bend until it’s the consistency of a thick milkshake.  Taste and adjust flavoring as desired.

Leave a Reply

