Inventing on the Fly

Standard

The other night I decided as I was starting dinner that it had been far too long since I broke away from recipes and came up with something of my own.  I was already planning to make Ree Drummond’s Crash Hot Potatoes.  I had some mushrooms in the fridge that needed to be eaten and I wondered, “How might one go about making vegetarian mushroom gravy?”  If I could come up with something like that we could put it over the potatoes and make a healthier version of country comfort food, which I’ve been 3 long years without.  I considered how you can thicken sauce with butter and flour in a skillet and then slowly add the meat drippings and I wondered… would that work with millet flour instead of white wheat flour, and vegetable broth instead of meat drippings?  The answer, as it turns out, its OH, YES!    I had thawed some fish for my husband and was thinking about what I could do with that that would be outside my norm.  I thought about using bread crumbs and frying or baking it with some unique flavorings, but I’ve done that before, and besides I didn’t have any bread crumbs so I would have to used regular bread crumbled up and toasted… BUT I did have croutons.  I didn’t see any reason why croutons crushed up wouldn’t make a great breading.  I’m sure its been done before, but it was a new idea to me.

I added my own twist to Ree’s Crashed Potatoes by brushing the tops of them with butter melted with chives, garlic black pepper and sea salt.

Here’s what I came up with:

Mushroom Gravy

By Holly

 

1 package Crimini mushrooms, sliced thin

1 pat butter (or ½ TBS oil of your choice, you can make this vegan)

3-4 TBS millet flour (or flour of your choice)

2 cups water

1 vegan bullion cubes (I use Not-Chikn)

Sea salt (optional)

Freshly ground black pepper

 

In a small pot boil water and bullion cube until dissolved.

Meanwhile, sauté mushrooms in a skillet with butter until tender and juices emerge.  Add flour and sauté another minute, stirring constantly.  Slowly add bullion while stirring, bring to boil.  Remove from heat and season with salt and pepper.

 

*Note:  If gravy is too thick, add boiling water to desired consistency.

Image

Behn enjoying is potatoes and gravy… not much to look at, but boy was it good!

 

Daddy’s Fish

By Holly

 

2 fillets of any white fish

Large handful of herbed croutons, smashed or ground in coffee grinder

1 egg, beaten

Coconut oil spray (or a small amount of butter or oil of your choice)

Freshly squeezed lemon juice

 

Rinse fish well.  Heat skillet and oil.  Dip fish in egg, then ground croutons.  Place in skillet and cook several minutes on each side, until cooked through.  Remove to plate and add a squeeze of lemon juice.

Image

Daddy’s fish… wish I’d have jumped for the camera sooner, he got into it too fast! By the way, the lemon juice was his addition. Got to give credit where credit is due.

Several days later I also made this gravy over mashed cauliflower, SO GOOD!

Here’s how I make mashed cauliflower:

Take 1-2 heads of cauliflower (depending on how many your feeding), wish it and cut it into big chunks.  Put it in a steamer basket.  Add a few cloves of garlic and several red potatoes (optional, I like the texture it adds).  Steam until tender.  Add Not-Chikn-Broth (made from the cubes, you can get them at Whole Foods), sea salt, black pepper (optional) and a little butter (optional).  Mix with a hand mixer until creamy.

Delicious, with or without the gravy.  Enjoy, friends!

One response »

  1. Pingback: I Scream, You Scream, We All Scream for… Milkshakes (Healthy Ones!) « playing in harmony

Leave a Reply

