Pizza’s Many Forms

Standard

It seems I never run out of ways of making pizza.  All the recipes are essentially the same, Muir Glen pizza sauce, all our favorite veggies, and Mozarella and Jack Goat cheese, but the forms are different.  Tonight, at my son’s request, I made pizza yet again, but this time I put it on Ezekiel burger buns, which gave my daughter the idea to put the buns together and make a pizza burger : )  I needed to use up the Morning Star vegan breakfast sausage in my freezer that was left over from the “vegan week” my husband did a while ago, so I threw some of that on there.  Normally we don’t eat soy, so most of our pizzas are just veggie.  Anyway, here are some pizza ideas to inspire you…

Image

Pizza on Ezekiel buns

Image

Pizza on Ezekiel buns as a “pizza burger” 

Image

Weekly movie night at our house, dinner and dessert and a movie followed by a camp out in the living room. Go-to meals: Pizza or sweet potato fries. Always begun with a big, raw, green salad, of course : )

Image

Zucchini Pizza Boats (my favorite). Cut zucchini lengthwise, scoop out centers (I use a melon baller). Bake about 20 mins at 350, fill with toppings of choice and bake again until cheese is melted and bubbly.

Image

Cauliflower crust pizza… okay, maybe this one is really my favorite, I just don’t like the effort it takes to make it! I have to make a quadruple recipe to make enough for myself and my children for dinner. You can find the recipe for the crust here: http://detoxinista.com/2012/01/the-secret-to-perfect-cauliflower-pizza-crust/

Image

Pizza on Ezekiel bread, same as making it on buns (and you can also use sprouted grain bagels or English muffins). Just put the bread in the oven for 10 mins at 400 degrees, take it out and top it and put it back in until the cheese is melted and bubbly.

Image

Skillet pizza. Just the toppings, no crust, which means no grain! Sautee your veggies in a tiny bit of organic butter, extra virgin coconut oil or extra virgin olive oil until tender. Toss in the pizza sauce, top with goat cheese or raw cow cheese, and cover with a lid until melted. This is SO VERY yummy!!!!!

Raw Pizza… for the adventurous! This one has Ani Phyo’s eggplant bacon, her vegan cheese, one of her crusts and sauces, and pineapple. Warning on raw pizzas: there are a LOT of nuts in here, which are very high fat and difficult to digest. Don’t go thinking just because its raw it will benefit your health! There is no healthy pizza, sorry to say, these are all occasional recipes!

I’ve got a few other recipes I’d like to try, like one with an almond flour crust and one with a spelt crust.  If I could find one that uses millet flour I would be most excited, but I do like to stick to the zucchini boats or  skillet pizza.  Of course, I should also add, I don’t eat this often as its not low fat, but its great to know I can indulge in ooey-gooey cheesy goodness when I want to!

Leave a Reply

