Spelt Flour Chocolate Chip Cookies

Standard

I got a little adventurous last night… we had some people over I’ve never met before.  My husband goes to school with the husband, who is new to the school so my husband is befriending him (what a guy!).  Anyway, usually when we have people over I make 2 dinners and/or desserts, even if its people who know me well and understand how we eat.  I didn’t really have a lot of time and am working on simplifying, so I decided to go out on a limb and make just one dessert (they were coming after dinner just to chat).  I wanted something every one might enjoy so I opted for the classic chocolate chip cookie.  After a moment of contemplation I decided against using carob chips and went with a chopped up 72% Endangered Species bar.  Everyone loved them!  You should have seen their 3 year old go to town on those bad boys!

Here is the recipe:

Vegan Spelt Chocolate Chip Cookies

adapted by me from Viva Le Vegan

(note: I doubled this and it made about 18 cookies)

1 1/4 cups spelt flour
1/4 teaspoon sea salt
1 teaspoon baking powder (aluminum-free)
1/2 teaspoon baking soda (aluminum-free)
1/4 cup coconut sugar
1/3 cup maple syrup
1/3 cup coconut oil
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract (alcohol-free)
2/3 cup chopped 68% or higher cacoa bar or carob chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Line a cookie sheet with parchment, Release foil or just use a non-stick cookie sheet.

In one bowl, thoroughly stir together spelt flour, salt, baking powder, baking soda and sugar.

In a second bowl, stir together maple syrup, oil and vanilla extract.

Add the oil mixture to the spelt mixture and stir until combined. Stir in chocolate chips.

Drop by rounded tablespoonfuls onto prepared cookie sheet (I lined mine with a slipmat) and bake for 11 minutes.

Image

One response »

Leave a Reply

