Dinner at Our House

Standard

Tonight I thought I’d give you an example of how we roll around here at dinner time.  I make 2 meals, or at least 1 1/2 meals.  My husband isn’t interested in a healthy lifestyle and I promised him when I told him what changes I would be making that I would not expect him to change, and that I would still make him the same kind of meals I always have.  I have many times regretted this and often wonder if that was the right thing to do. On one hand, we decided at the beginning of our marriage that mom is not a short order cook.  What I cook, they eat, or not.  Being hungry is also an option.  When our kids don’t want what I’ve made we put it away for later.  This has altered just a bit since our major dietary transformation 3 years ago.  Recently I realized that the important thing is the salad we always begin with.  The salad is a requirement.  There is always a cooked side after that which Coen, my youngest who has been raised with this lifestyle, often rejects.  I’m okay with that.  It dawned on me that the cooked food really isn’t a great thing to eat anyway, and what he wants instead is fruit.  I’m totally okay with that!  Anyway, here I am playing double standards with my husband, and wearing myself out in the process.  But food is such a hot topic between us its difficult to bring it up.  Even a casual mention typically gets a very negative reaction.  Your comments on how to navigate this are very welcome!

So tonight I decided to break from from the totally plain salad rut I’ve been dwelling in lately.  I grilled some pineapple, cut it up, tossed it on the salad and threw on some peach mango salsa.

Image

For our cooked side I had some carrots and baby kale in the fridge I needed to use up.  I sliced up a yellow onion and the carrots and sauteed them in a pan with a very tiny bit of butter until they were tender.  I added 1/2 a vegan bullion cube and a little water and tossed in the kale.

Image

For Kolby I made white Basmati rice and Green Thai Curry.  I put 2 cans of coconut milk in with a can of green Thai curry paste.  Heat it and mix it up.  Added yellow onion, mini sweet peppers, and chicken.  Cooked for about an hour on medium until the chicken was done.  Added diced zucchini and cooked until tender.  When he gets home after clinic he’ll eat it over the rice.

Image

Leave a Reply

