Saturdays at the Wolfley’s

Standard

Today was a productive day.  Hooray for that!  Why does it always turn out, though, that after a “productive” day the house is in disarray even more than usual?  But I did check off a few things from my to-do list that have been sitting there for weeks.

First of all, I finally got around to making the laundry soap I’ve been meaning to make for a while now.  I kind of had to do it today seeing as how the laundry is piling up again and I’m out of soap.  I decided a while ago I would start making my own soap to save money and avoid chemicals.  The student family budget rules this family.

Image

Laundry soap sitting over night to “goo.” Tomorrow I will put it into the laundry detergent containers I’ve been saving.

Next, I finally got around to finishing the candle holders I’ve been dreaming of.  I’ve had old spaghetti sauce jars taking up space on my counter for over a month!  I tried spraying them with glitter spray, but that looked super tacky.  Then I followed this tutorial and frosted them.  I didn’t have any food coloring, and I wanted them just a bit antique-ee, to go with the brownish hazelnut candles inside, so I mixed tumeric with some water and used that to color the Epsom salt.  The candles wouldn’t sit in the bottom because it was concave, so I poured more of the salt in there and scrunched them down into it.  Voila!

Image

Image

Also, I got around to cleaning our microfiber couches.  This one was a long time coming!  We’ve had these couches 5 years.  They were cleaned once by my husband with the steam cleaner, but that was a few years ago and we’ve had kids potty train since then… you know what that means…

Image

There is one more project I worked on for quite a bit of the day, but I need to run to Lowe’s before I can finish it, so you’ll have to wait to see that one : )  I have to give a big shout-out to Pinterest!  My house has never been cleaner, and I have never been craftier, and this gives me one more thing to babble on and on to my husband about every night for the purposes of annoyance : D

Now, about Saturdays at our house.  Saturday evening (or sometimes Friday if its more convenient) we have family movie night.  Kolby is usually not here, but the kids and I rotate turns choosing a movie, dinner, and dessert.  We have a shoddy little chart that I made (I am ultra UNcrafty).  Tonight I chose an eggroll type invention for dinner (which we enjoyed after our usual large salad, of course), Behn chose frozen cookie dough balls for dessert, and Coen chose Stuart Little via Netflix for our movie.  We spread an old sheet out on the floor and picnic in front of the TV.  Afterward, if there’s time before bed, we play games.  Tonight we played Dora and Diego Candyland.

Image

Our rotating movie night chart, I keep it on the inside of the cabinet door to conceal its unsightliness

Now for the food.

For dessert I modified this recipe.  Then, I tossed it into the freezer while I made dinner.

Cookie Dough Balls

1/2 cup coconut sugar

4 TBS organic butter or coconut oil, softened

1/4 tsp alcohol-free vanilla extract

1/4 cup coconut milk (I used reduced fat, the Trader Joe’s brand)

3/4 cup organic spelt flour

3/4 cup organic millet flour

pinch sea salt

2 squares organic 70% cocoa or highter chocolte bar (I used Trader Joe’s “The Pounder” dark chocolate bar), chopped small

Stir it all together and drop into “balls” on a plate, freeze.

Image

Then I moved on to dinner.  I had searched for a good “inside out” eggroll recipe, but came up lacking.  So, I threw together my own invention.  There were too many noodles for my liking, so I’ve cut them in half in the recipe.  I actually think it would be better with no noodles at all, but then I’ve never been much for noodles.

We’ll call it… Eggless Unroll.

1-2 TBS coconut or peanut oil

1-2 TBS sesame oil

about 10 carrots, peeled and cut into matchsticks

1 head cabbage, sliced in thin strips

4 bulbs of garlic, minced

about 1 TBS freshly ground black pepper

1 bunch scallions, sliced thin

2 TBS cilantro, chopped small

1 TBS Hoisin Sauce, optional (find the highest quality you can if you’re going to use this, mine wasn’t the best)

2-3 TBS Tamari (or soy sauce)

1/2 12 oz box Buckwheat Soba noodles (optional), cooked according to package directions

sweet chili sauce, to taste (optional)

Put the oils, carrots, cabbage, garlic and black pepper in a large pot and cook until tender.  Add cilantro, scallion, Hoisin, Tamari.  Toss well.  Add the noodles and toss again.  Severe with a little sweet chili sauce sprinkled over the top, if desired.

Image

Image

Leave a Reply

