Family Announcement!

Standard

Remember the other day when I posted pics of my big round belly and said I wasn’t pregnant?

Well.

Turns out I am.

You can aplaude now : )

Of course, this drastically alters my course of healing.  Obviously my plans for a digestive rest are on hold for now.  I plan to get back to those when the baby is about 6 months old.  For now, I’m just trying to navigate morning sickness without totally falling off course.  Its been trying.  Mostly all I’ve eaten today are a whole lot of spelt baking powder biscuits.  The only other thing I could handle the thought of without gagging is Pizza Hut pizza, and I’m really trying to not go there!  I’ve had mad sharp gas pain every day.  Some days I do an enema in the morning and one in the evening just to relieve some of the pain.  The painful areas I used to have in my abdomen have returned.  I haven’t had pain in these areas since I started combining my food properly a year ago.  Pregnancy can really slow down digestion because of the extra progesterone, and I’m feeling it.  I’m trying to combine properly, but sometimes I’ll get hungry so soon after eating and need to eat to keep the nausea under control even though I know my last meal hasn’t left my stomach yet.  Yesterday I ate grapes an hour and a half after eating 4 eggs.  I instantly (and for the rest of the night) regretted it.

On a more positive note (because I love those so much!), I’ll have the opportunity to tell you about some of the really cool stuff that comes along with pregnancy and babies in our family.  First, I’m very excited to have a baby after having healed to the extent that I have.  Once the nausea passes, this baby will be fed with an abundance of fresh vegetable juices, fruits and blended greens.  This will be my first vegetarian pregnancy, and the first pregnancy where I will not allow my diet to be dictated by concerned caregivers. During my first pregnancy, my Bradly teacher pointed out that I wasn’t eating enough.  We learned about the Brewer diet.  Both were well intentioned, but I was perfectly comfortable with the amount I was eating.  I’m a grazer by nature.  I don’t require a whole lot.  After that I forced myself to eat over 100 grams of protein a day (primarily in meat).  I basically went on a cheeseburger and egg diet.  I felt like I was going to explode the whole time.  Pregnancy number 2 I discovered protein shakes, which saved me from a whole lot of meat.  I did eat more instinctively during this pregnancy, but I was still in the mindset of believing I needed over 100 grams of protein a day.   Baby number 3 I was horribly sick the first trimester and never did get my appetite back the whole time.  My midwife, doula and husband were concerned I wasn’t eating enough and were worried I would have a low birth weight baby.  Clearly, there are no issues here.  Baby #1, 9lbs 4oz.  Baby #2, 9lbs, 2oz.  Baby #3, 9lbs even.  I’m very curious to see if I just happen to make big babies by nature, or it was the result of eating more than my body needed.  So baby #4 is a bit of an experiment (and I love those, too!).

We aren’t the most mainstream parents.  Kolby was when I met him.  He was resistant at first to some of the things I felt strongly about, but once he learned more about them he became an advocate himself.  So here are some of the unconventional things we do and that you will have the chance to hear about over the coming months.

Hypnosis for Childbirth

Midwives

Doulas

Homebirth

Waterbirth

Children (Siblings) at Birth

Family Catching Baby

Placenta Consumption, and Other Fun Placenta Projects

Exclusive Breastfeeding Until Age 1

Nursing on Demand

Extended Breastfeeding/Child Led Weaning

Co-Sleeping

“Babymooning”

Elimination Communication

Intact Foreskin (NoCirc)

Absence of Vaccination

Baby Wearing

I’m sure there are more, this is all my pregnant brain has for you at 11:00 at night.  I’m so excited to share this journey with you!

Side note:  Concerning my last post, although I am pregnant, the size of my abdomen had nothing to do with that.  Well, some of the excess gas was from the pregnancy.  But I’m only 5.5 weeks along.  Everything that was said in the previous post concerning digestion is still relevant.

2 responses »

  1. Congrats! I too am interested in many of the things on your list and did many with our first baby. We will probably do them with baby 2 as well, as they worked so well 🙂 All the best to you!

Leave a Reply

